Chiefs G Brian Waters Named Recipient of Iba Citizen Athlete Award

Posted Jun 14, 2010

On Monday evening in Oklahoma, Kansas City Chiefs G Brian Waters was named the recipient of a 2010 Henry P. Iba Citizen Athlete Award. Issued by the Rotary Club of Tulsa, the honor was announced during the 17th Annual Iba Awards Banquet.

Waters is no stranger to accolades, be it professional or philanthropic in nature. The 2009 Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year, Waters is a four-time Pro Bowl performer whose 147 games played in the Red and Gold is more than any current member of the team. Entering his 11th NFL season this fall, the stalwart Texan has started all of his past 132 games played. Since the inception of his Brian Waters 54 Foundation in 2004, Waters has worked relentlessly to uplift communities throughout Texas, including his hometown of Waxahachie, and in the Kansas City metropolitan area.

“It’s an honor to receive such a prestigious accolade, especially one named after an amazing coach, leader and citizen like Henry Iba,” noted Waters. “While awards are obviously not the reason that the Brian Waters 54 Foundation seeks to help others, it is a sign that we are indeed making a positive mark. Every individual that we reach makes our efforts that much more worthwhile.”

The Henry P. Iba Citizen Athlete Awards are given in recognition of America's premier athletes. These individuals have excelled in their sport and have shown by their actions a desire to help others. Their outstanding personal involvement and success in their chosen work have made them heroes in the eyes of the world and Henry P. Iba would have undoubtedly been proud to be associated with the selections made in his name.

A legendary collegiate basketball coach, Henry Iba, was an unparalleled success as a professional, a leader and a citizen. The Henry P. Iba Citizen Athlete Awards were created to recognize and honor one female and one male athlete who best exemplify the high degree of citizenship in the image of Henry P. Iba.

The female recipient of this year’s Iba Citizen Athlete Award was Olympic gold medalist C Ruth Riley of the WNBA’s San Antonio Silver Stars. The 2009-10 Red Auerbach NBA Coach of the Year, Scott Brooks, was the event’s keynote speaker. Doug Gottlieb, an ESPN Radio host and college basketball analyst, served a Master of Ceremonies for the evening.

Waters is the second member of the Chiefs to win the Henry P. Iba Citizen Athlete Award. Waters’ former teammate and mentor, G Will Shields, also took home the accolade in 2005.