Brandon Flowers named to 2011 USA Today All-Joe Team

Posted Jan 27, 2012

It's the first All-Joe selection of Flowers' career

Chiefs cornerback Brandon Flowers was hoping to be in Hawaii this week as a member of the AFC’s Pro Bowl roster, but he might be there as soon as next year if follows the footsteps of Derrick Johnson and Tamba Hali.

Flowers was named to the 2011 USA Today All-Joe Team Friday morning, an honor both Johnson and Hali received in recent years. Johnson was named to the All-Joe Team for the first time last season and Hali earned those honors following his 2009 campaign.

USA Today’s All-Joe Team is constructed to recognize the NFL’s “unsung heroes.” It’s an honor originally created in 1992 as a tribute to former Chiefs DT Joe Phillips, who played an important defensive role alongside perennial Pro Bowlers Derrick Thomas and Neil Smith.

To qualify for the All-Joe team, players must still be awaiting their first Pro Bowl invitation.

Chiefs C Casey Wiegmann is the all-time franchise leader with six All-Joe nods. In addition to Wiegmann, Johnson and Hali’s previous selections, current Chiefs to have been named All-Joe Team in recent years include Ryan Lilja (2010), Dwayne Bowe (2008) and Brandon Carr (2008)

After four seasons in the league, Flowers appears on the cusp of earning his first-career Pro Bowl nod as he steadily gains more national notoriety. Flowers led the Chiefs with four interceptions in 2011 and tied a career-high with 81 tackles.

Flowers also led the team with 21 passes defensed, which was the second-highest total of his career. His 58-yard interception return for a touchdown at Oakland was the third pick-six of his career.

All-Time All-Joe Chiefs

1992: C Tim Grunhard, DT Joe Phillips

1994: TE Derrick Walker

1995: G Will Shields

1996: G Dave Szott

1997: C Tim Grunhard, WR Danan Hughes, G Dave Szott, Off. Coord. Paul Hackett

2000: DE Eric Hicks, LB Mike Maslowski

2001: FB Tony Richardson, P Dan Stryzinski

2002: K Morten Andersen, LB Marvcus Patton, C Casey Wiegmann

2003: ST Gary Stills, S Greg Wesley, C Casey Wiegmann

2004: DE Jared Allen, LS Kendall Gammon, C Casey Wiegmann

2005: C Casey Wiegmann

2006: DE Jared Allen, QB Damon Huard, C Casey Wiegmann

2007: C Casey Wiegmann

2008: WR Dwayne Bowe, CB Brandon Carr

2009: OLB Tamba Hali

2010: LB Derrick Johnson, G Ryan Lilja

2011: CB Brandon Flowers

The 2011 USA Today All-Joe Team


QBs: Matthew Stafford (DET); Alex Smith (SF); Tim Tebow (DEN)

RBs: Reggie Bush (MIA); Fred Jackson (BUF); Ben Tate (HOU)

FB: Jim Kleinsasser (MIN)

WRs: Victor Cruz (NYG); Jordy Nelson (GB); Marques Colston (NO); Laurent Robinson (DAL); Doug Baldwin (SEA); Darrius Heyward-Bey (OAK)

TEs: Aaron Hernandez (NE); Brent Celek (PHI)

Ts: Duane Brown (HOU); Andrew Whitworth (CIN); Todd Herremans (PHI); Max Starks (PIT)

Gs: Mike Brisiel (HOU); Josh Sitton (GB); Chris Kuper (DEN)

Cs: Roberto Garza (CHI); Todd McClure (ATL); Dominic Raiola (DET)


DEs: Chris Long (STL); J.J. Watt (HOU); Chris Clemons (SEA); Red Bryant (SEA); Calais Campbell (ARZ); Jeremy Mince (JAX)

DTs: Henry Melton (CHI); Sione Pouha (NYJ)

OLBs: Aldon Smith (SF); Connor Barwin (HOU); Jarret Johnson (BAL); Antwan Barnes (SD)

ILBs: David Harris (NYJ); Sean Lee (DAL); D’Qwell Jackson (CLE); Pat Angerer (IND); James Anderson (CAR)

CBs: Lardarius Webb (BAL); Jason McCourty (HOU); Kyle Arrington (NE); Joe Haden (CLE); Brandon Flowers (KC)

Ss: Donte Whitner (SF); Jim Leonhard (NYJ)

Special Teams

K: Connor Barth (TB)

P: Thomas Morstead (NO)

KR: Darren Sproles (NO)

ST: Lorenzo Alexander (WAS)

^ TOP ^