Chiefs secure 11th overall draft pick with coin flip win

Posted Feb 24, 2012

The NFL held a coin flip Friday morning with the Chiefs and Seahawks to determine the 11th and 12th overall picks in April's NFL Draft

INDIANAPOLIS, IN – Heads or tails? Chiefs GM Scott Pioli didn’t have to make that 50/50 call since the NFL provided a minted coin decorated with Chiefs and Seahawks logos for a coin toss to determine the 11th and 12th overall picks in April's draft.

Ken Fiore, Director of Player Personnel for the NFL, handled coin flip duties while NFL Senior Director of Player Personnel Joel Bussert officiated the event.

Once the coin went up, it landed with an Arrowhead showing.

“It kind of went straight up and it didn’t start flipping until it hit the ground,” Pioli described.

“It’s a huge difference because in that one spot in the draft you don’t know who the other team is going to pick. It’s just an earlier opportunity for you to get what you want in the draft.”

Pioli joined Seahawks GM John Schneider inside a conference room at the Westin Hotel in downtown Indianapolis Friday morning at 7:30 AM (EST) for the deciding flip.

Dolphins GM Jeff Ireland and Panthers GM Marty Hurney met for a separate toss to determine the 8th and 9th overall picks. Miami emerged victorious over Carolina to secure the 8th overall draft choice.

“Not only is a better opportunity for you to get what you want, but if there is an opportunity to make a trade you are one spot higher and the value of that pick is going to be that much greater,” Pioli said.

A coin toss was used to determine draft positions because the Seahawks and Chiefs finished with the same record (7-9) last season and also finished with the same strength of schedule, which is the first tiebreaker between teams with identical records.

Division and conference records couldn’t be used as tiebreakers since Seattle is in the NFC and Kansas City is in the AFC.

Official 2012 NFL Draft Order

  1. Indianapolis Colts (2-14)
  2. St. Louis Rams (2-14)
  3. Minnesota Vikings (3-13)
  4. Cleveland Browns (4-12)
  5. Tampa Bay Buccaneers (4-12)
  6. Washington Redskins (5-11)
  7. Jacksonville Jaguars (5-11)
  8. Miami Dolphins (6-10)
  9. Carolina Panthers (6-10)
  10. Buffalo Bills (6-10)
  11. Kansas City Chiefs (7-9)
  12. Seattle Seahawks (7-9)
  13. Arizona Cardinals (8-8)
  14. Dallas Cowboys (8-8)
  15. Philadelphia Eagles (8-8)
  16. New York Jets (8-8)
  17. Oakland Raiders (8-8)
  18. San Diego Chargers (8-8)
  19. Chicago Bears (8-8)
  20. Tennessee Titans (9-7)
  21. Cincinnati Bengals (9-7)
  22. Atlanta Falcons (10-6)
  23. Detroit Lions (10-6)
  24. Pittsburgh Steelers (12-4)
  25. Denver Broncos (8-8)
  26. Houston Texans (10-6)
  27. New Orleans Saints (13-3)
  28. Green Bay Packers (15-1)
  29. Baltimore Ravens (12-4)
  30. San Francisco 49ers (13-3)
  31. New England Patriots (13-3)
  32. New York Giants (9-7)

^ TOP ^