Kevin Ross To Be Inducted Into The Chiefs Hall Of Fame

Posted Mar 3, 2011

Ross is the 41st member of the prestigious group

Kansas City Chiefs players tallied 20 Pro Bowl invitations from 1989-93. Chiefs Head Coach Marty Schottenheimer brought a new mindset with him to Arrowhead that first season and the teams followed were among the best in franchise history.

Nine different players accounted for those 20 Pro Bowl invites during Schottenheimer’s first five years at the helm. All but one owns a place in Arrowhead’s Hall of Honor as either a Pro Football Hall of Famer or a Chiefs Hall of Famer.

On Thursday, Chiefs Chairman and CEO Clark Hunt announced that the missing link is no more. CB Kevin Ross will become 41st player inducted into the Chiefs Hall of Fame.

“On behalf of our family and the entire Chiefs organization, we are extremely honored to announce Kevin Ross’ election into the Chiefs Hall of Fame,” Hunt said. “Kevin went from an unknown seventh-round pick to one of the top performers in the defensive backfield in the NFL during his tenure. He had a true appreciation for the game and we are excited to welcome him into the Chiefs Hall of Fame.”

Ross will be honored during Saturday night’s 101 Awards Banquet at the Westin Crown Center. He will then be enshrined as a member of the Chiefs Hall of Fame at Chiefs Alumni Weekend festivities this fall and honored in a ceremony at halftime of that weekend’s game.

Now serving in the NFL coaching ranks, Ross is currently entering his second season as defensive backs coach with the Oakland Raiders.

“Our President, Amy Trask, called me last week and told me that Clark Hunt wanted to speak to me,” Ross explained. “I was trying to figure out what it might be about and was a little reluctant to call because I wasn’t sure what he wanted with me. She said, ‘no I think it’s a good thing.’

“When Mr. Hunt told me the news, I was like ‘Wow.’ Honestly, I’m just so humbled by all of this.”

For 10 seasons, Ross paired with Albert Lewis to form what many would consider the most dominate cornerback tandem in franchise history. The duo went to two Pro Bowls with one another (1989-90) and helped Kansas City lead the league in turnover differential in both 1990 ( 26) and 1992 ( 18).

The Chiefs still own the NFL’s best turnover ratio dating back to the 1990 season with a 169 mark, which is 66 turnovers better than Pittsburgh’s second-place showing of 103.

Lewis was inducted into the Chiefs Hall of Fame during the 2007 season.

“It’s more than meaningful to join the Hall of Fame with guys like Albert and Deron Cherry (Class of 1996),” Ross said. “These guys had a big impact on me. I came to Kansas City as a seventh-round draft choice and I’m not even sure I was originally in their plans to make the squad. Those guys shaped my game tremendously and brought a lot to the table.

“We played a lot of man-to-man defense and were attacking, and people knew that we were going to be attacking,” Ross continued. “There was no mystery. We just didn’t’ think that anybody could come in there and beat us, period.”

Ross would play in 156 regular season games (144 starts) during an 11-year career with Kansas City (’84-93, ’97). He produced 826 tackles (620 solo), 4.0 sacks, 30 INTs for 551 yards with two touchdowns, 12 fumble recoveries and 12 forced fumbles. He also scored five career TDs with his first coming against the Raiders.

“My most memorable moment at Arrowhead had to be my first interception,” Ross recalled. “It went for a touchdown against the Raiders and that was a big memory for me. Winning the AFC West for my first time was another great memory. There were so just so many great moments there.”

Ross is also one of only three players in franchise history to score a touchdown in at least four different ways (two INTs, two blocked FG returns, one fumble recovery and one blocked punt). Fellow Chiefs Hall of Famers Johnny Robinson and Abner Haynes are the other two players who have done so.

Named Chiefs Rookie of the Year in 1984, Ross will see Eric Berry continue on the legacy of the late Mack Lee Hill Award at Saturday’s 101 Awards Banquet as well.

Chiefs Hall of Fame

CB Kevin Ross (2011)

Head Coach Marty Schottenheimer (2010)

K Nick Lowery (2009)

DT Curley Culp (2008)

CB Albert Lewis (2007)

DE Neil Smith (2006)

Administrator Jack Steadman (2005)

RB Joe Delaney (2004)

LB Gary Spani (2003)

T John Alt (2002)

LB Derrick Thomas (2001)

RB Christian Okoye (2000)

S Lloyd Burruss (1999)

DE Art Still (1998)

T Dave Hill (1997)

S Deron Cherry (1996)

RB Curtis McClinton (1995)

C Jack Rudney (1994)

LB Sherrill Headrick (1993)

K Jan Stenerud (1992)

RB Abner Haynes (1991)

LB Jim Lynch (1990)

RB Ed Podolak (1989)

P Jerrel Wilson (1988)

Head Coach Hank Stram (1987)

CB Emmitt Thomas (1986)

LB Willie Lanier (1985)

G Ed Budde (1984)

WR Otis Taylor (1982)

DT Buck Buchanan (1981)

LB Bobby Bell (1980)

QB Len Dawson (1979)

RB Mike Garrett (1978)

T Jim Tyrer (1977)

C/LB E.J. Holub (1976)

E Chris Burford (1975)

HB/S Johnny Robinson (1974)

TE Fred Arbanas (1973)

DT/DE Jerry Mays (1972)

RB Mack Lee Hill (1971)

Founder Lamar Hunt (1970)


^ TOP ^