Lilja, Johnson Earn USA Today All-Joe Honors

Posted Jan 26, 2011

The USA Today All-Joe Team was created in 1992 as a tribute to former Chiefs DT Joe Phillips

Two Chiefs were named to the 2010 USA Today All-Joe Team Wednesday morning, a squad comprised of NFL “unsung heroes.” The All-Joe Team was originally created in 1992 ago as a tribute to former Chiefs DT  Joe Phillips, who played an important defensive role alongside perennial Pro Bowlers Derrick Thomas and Neil Smith.

To qualify for the All-Joe team, players must still be awaiting their first Pro Bowl invitation.

This year, Chiefs G Ryan Lilja and LB Derrick Johnson were named to the All-Joe Team for the first time of their careers.

Lilja, who was also named to Peter King’s All-Pro team last week, helped the Chiefs lead the NFL in rushing for the first time since 1995 with 164.2 ypg.  Chiefs RBs Jamaal Charles (1,467) and Thomas Jones (896) combined for 2,363 rushing yards, the best total by NFL teammates in 2010 and the top total in Chiefs history while the Chiefs offensive line permitted 32.0 sacks (13.0 fewer than they allowed in 2009).

Johnson started 16 games for Kansas City and tallied a team-high 147 tackles (103 solo). He also posted 6.0 tackles for loss, a sack, an INT for a TD, 13 PDs, three QB pressures, four forced fumbles and a fumble recovery. His four forced fumbles tied for fourth in the AFC and ninth in the NFL.

Johnson won AFC Defensive Player of the Week honors after producing a career-high 17 tackles (12 solo) and four passes defensed at St. Louis (12/19).

Here is the complete USA Today All-Joe Team:

QBs: Josh Freeman (TB); Sam Bradford (STL); Ryan Fitzpatrick (BUF)

RBs: Peyton Hillis (CLE); LeSean McCoy (PHI); Matt Forte (CHI); Danny Woodhead (NE)

FBs: Mike Tolbert (SD); Marcel Reece (OAK)

WRs: Marques Colston (NO); Mike Wallace (PIT); Mike Williams (TB); Mike Williams (SEA); Anthony Armstrong (WAS)

TEs: Rob Gronkowski (NE); Brandon Pettigrew (DET); Jacob Tamme (IND)

Ts: Roger Saffold (STL); Sebastian Vollmer (NE); Jonathan Scott (PIT)

Gs: Ryan Lilja (KC); Wade Smith (HOU); Vince Manuwai (JAX)

Cs: Rich Seaubert (NYG); Todd McClure (ATL)

K: Jay Feely (ARZ)


DEs: Israel Idonije (CHI); Charles Johnson (CAR); Chris Clemons (SEA); Cory Redding (BAL); Carlos Dunlap (CIN)

DTs: B.J. Raji (GB); Antonio Dixon (PHI); Isaac Sopoaga (SF); Fred Robbins (STL)

OLBs: Mario Haggan (DEN); Chad Greenway (MIN); David Hawthorne (SEA)

MLBs: David Harris (NYJ); Stephen Tulloch (TEN); Bradie James (DAL); Derrick Johnson (KC)

CBs: Terrell Thomas (NYG); Ike Taylor (PIT); Joe Haden (CLE); Vontae Davis (MIA); Quentin Jammer (SD)

Ss: Malcolm Jenkins (SEA); Chris Harris (CHI); Charles Godfrey (CAR)

P: Donnie Jones (STL)

KR: Brad Smith (NYJ)

ST: Corey Graham (CHI)

^ TOP ^