Seven former Chiefs on 2012 College Football Hall of Fame ballot

Posted Feb 28, 2012

Derrick Thomas and Willie Roaf among former Chiefs up for College Football HOF induction in 2012

In December, Will Shields became the 20th player in Chiefs history to be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame.  With seven former players on the ballot in 2012, the Chiefs’ representation in College Football’s HOF could be growing again soon.

The National Football Foundation announced today the names of 76 players and eight coaches who’ve made it onto the 2012 HOF ballot. The Class of 2012 will be announced live in New York City on May 15th.

Pro Football Hall of Famers Derrick Thomas and Willie Roaf are two of the former Chiefs up for induction this year.

Former Chiefs on the ballot this year include:

Erick Anderson, Michigan-Linebacker – Drafted by Kansas City in the seventh round of the 1992 NFL Draft, Anderson played in eight games with the Chiefs (one start) and tallied 10 tackles. He was released in 1994.

Anderson was the 1991 Butkus Award winner who led the Wolverines to bowl games and top-10 finishes all four seasons of career. He was the 1991 Big Ten Co-Defensive Player of the Year and the only player in UM history to lead team in tackles all four seasons.

Jim Otis, Ohio State-Fullback- Traded to the Chiefs in 1971, Otis played two years in Kansas City and appeared in 23 games. He played a total of nine NFL seasons with the Saints, Chiefs and Rams, totaling 1,160 carries for 4,350 yards with 19 TDs. He also caught 90 passes for 549 yards with three TDs.

Otis was named consensus First Team All-America in 1969 and was also a member of Ohio State’s 1968 National Championship team. He was named First Team All-Big Ten in 1969, leading the Buckeyes to two conference titles while leading the team in rushing three times.

Paul Palmer, Temple-Running Back- The Chiefs made Palmer a first round pick in 1987. Drafted 19th overall, Palmer would play just two years in Kansas City, totaling 112 rushing attempts for 446 yards with two TDs. He finished his NFL career in 1989 with the Dallas Cowboys.

At Temple, Palmer was a 1986 unanimous First Team All-America selection. He led the nation in rushing yards (1,866), rushing yards per game (169.6) and all-purpose yards (2,633) while setting 23 school records.

Willie Roaf, Louisiana Tech-Offensive Lineman- One of the most dominant left tackles in NFL history, Roaf was elected to 11 Pro Bowl during his illustrious 13-year NFL career. Of those 13 years, four were spent in Kansas City (2002-05). He’ll be inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame this summer.

Roaf was a 1992 consensus First Team All-America pick and a finalist for the Outland Trophy. He led Louisiana Tech to a 1990 Independence Bowl berth and was a two-time All-South Independent selection.

Mark Simoneau, Kansas State-Linebacker- A free agent acquisition in 2010, Simoneau played in one game with the Chiefs before a neck injury forced his retirement. He played a total of nine NFL seasons, appearing in 124 games for the Falcons, Eagles, Saints and Chiefs.

Simoneau was a 1999 consensus First Team All-American and also earned Second Team honors in 1998. He was a three-time First Team All-Big 12 selection and was the 1999 Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year. Simoneau also holds the K-State record for career unassisted tackles (251).

Percy Snow, Michigan State-Linebacker- Drafted 13th overall by the Chiefs in 1990, Snow appeared in 30 games (one start) with the Chiefs. An accident while riding a moped during the 1991 training camp ultimately derailed his NFL career.

Snow was a 1989 unanimous First Team All-America selection and the 1989 Butkus Award winner. He led MSU to the 1987 Big Ten title and a Rose Bowl win. Snow ranks second all-time at Michigan State in career tackles (473).

Derrick Thomas, Alabama-Linebacker- A Pro Football Hall of Famer, Thomas changed the Chiefs organization when he was drafted fourth overall in the 1989 NFL Draft. He went on to become one of the greatest players in franchise history. “DT” was more than just a sack-master.

Thomas was a 1988 unanimous First Team All-America selection and the Butkus Award winner. He led the Tide to four consecutive bowl berths, earning SEC Defensive Player of the Year in 1998. He also set the SEC record for sacks in a season (27) and finished his collegiate career with 74 tackles for loss.

Complete 2012 College Football Hall of Fame Ballot

Chiefs in the College Football Hall of Fame

RB Marcus Allen, USC (Class of 2000)

DT Bobby Bell, Minnesota (Class of 1991)

T Buck Buchanan, Grambling (Class of 1996)

T Brad Budde, USC (Class of 1998)

E Chris Burford, Stanford (Class of 1995)

HB Billy Cannon, LSU (Class of 2008)

LB Ronnie Caveness, Arkansas (Class of 2010)

RB Joe Delaney, Northwestern State (Class of 1997)

QB Randy Duncan, Iowa (Class of 1997)

RB Kenny Gamble, Colgate (Class of 2002)

HB Mike “Iron Mike” Garrett, USC (Class of 1985)

C E.J. Holub, Texas Tech (Class of 1986)

QB John Huarte, Notre Dame (Class of 2005)

LB Willie “Honey Bear” Lanier, Morgan State (Class of 2000)

LB Jim Lynch, Notre Dame (Class of 1992)

HB James “Rabbit” Saxton, Texas (Class of 1996)

T Will Shields, Nebraska (Class of 2011)

LB Gary Spani, Kansas State (Class of 2002)

HB Jim “The Rusk Rambler” Swink, TCU (Class of 1980)

DT Rob Waldrop, Arizona (Class of 2011)

^ TOP ^