Posted Dec 28, 2010

The National Football League announced on Tuesday that WR Dwayne Bowe, RB Jamaal Charles and G Brian Waters will represent the Kansas City Chiefs in the 2011 AFC-NFC Pro Bowl. The Pro Bowl will be played at Aloha Stadium in Honolulu, Hawaii on Sunday, January 30, 2011. This season’s game will mark Waters’ fifth Pro Bowl invitation, while Bowe and Charles are first-time selections.


Bowe (6-2, 221) has started all 15 games in 2010, tallying a team-high 67 receptions for a career-best 1,094 yards (16.3 avg.). Bowe has an NFL-high 15 TD receptions, the highest seasonal total in franchise history. He caught 14 TD passes in the first 11 games of the season, tying him for the second-highest total by a player in his team’s first 11 games. His streak of seven straight games with a TD catch earlier this season also established a franchise record. He has also registered five 100-yard receiving games.

The Miami, Florida native has appeared in 55 games (52 starts) in four years with Kansas City, recording 261 receptions for 3,491 yards with 31 TDs. He has 10 career 100-yard receiving games and has six career multi-TD games, five of which have come in 2010.

Charles (5-11, 199) registered his second consecutive 1,000-yard season in 2010. He ranks second in the league in rushing with 216 carries for 1,380 yards with four TDs. Charles owns 43 catches for 455 yards with three receiving TDs and is second in the NFL with 1,835 yards from scrimmage. He leads the league with a 6.39 yards-per-carry average and 43 runs of 10 yards. His career 6.04 yards-per-carry average is the best mark in NFL history (min. 300 atts.). He owns four 100-yard rushing games in 2010.

The Port Arthur, Texas native has played in 46 games (18 starts). Charles has 460 carries for 2,780 yards with 11 TDs and 106 catches for 984 yards with five TDs. He owns 10 career 100-yard rushing performances. Charles added 51 kickoff returns for 1,246 yards with a 97-yard TD.

Waters (6-3, 320) has started 15 games at left guard and has been a key member of an offensive unit that leads the league in rushing (167.5 ypg). The Chiefs offense has produced six 200-yard team rushing performances and the blocking unit has paved the way for the most prolific single-season rushing duo in franchise history in RBs Jamaal Charles and Thomas Jones, who have combined for 2,259 rushing yards. The Chiefs are also tied for fifth in the NFL, permitting only 25.0 sacks this season.

Waters has appeared in 162 career games (148 starts) with Kansas City and was the winner of the 2009 Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award in recognition of his off-the-field community service and playing excellence. The Waxahachie, Texas native was previously selected to the Pro Bowl following the 2004-06 and 2008 seasons.

^ TOP ^