Three Chiefs Earn Pro Football Writers of America Honors

Posted Jan 18, 2011

GM Scott Pioli highlights the list as the PFW/PFWA NFL Executive of the Year

Another set of prestigious NFL honors have been released and several Chiefs are part of the awards. Highlighting the Pro Football Weekly/Pro Football Writers of America All-NFL team and All-Rookie teams are GM Scott Pioli, RB Jamaal Charles and S Eric Berry.

Each year, the PFWA votes on an NFL all-star team and all-rookie team. In all, only six players returned from the 2009 edition of the awards.

Chiefs General Manager Scott Pioli was named NFL Executive of the Year for the fifth time of his career (third time by the PFWA) following a worst to first turnaround in his second season guiding the Chiefs front office. Pioli previously won the award in 2003 and 2007.

“We started to get the feeling that things were starting to change in the offseason,” Pioli told PFW.

PFW highlighted the Chiefs 2010 Draft Class and free agency additions (RB Thomas Jones, G Ryan Lilja and C Casey Wiegmann) in helping the Chiefs steer an impressive turnaround.

Jamaal Charles was one of two running backs selected to the PFW/PFWA All-NFL Team, joining Houston’s Arian Foster on the list. The two runners finished the season first and second in the NFL’s rushing race this season.

Charles was the first Chief to earn PFW All-NFL honors since DE Jared Allen did so in 2007.

Rookie safety Eric Berry became the third Chiefs draft choice under Scott Pioli to earn PFW All-Rookie Team honors. He was joined by Browns safety T.J. Ward on the rookie squad.

Last season, DE Tyson Jackson and K Ryan Succop were both named to the All-Rookie team by PFW.

Here’s a look at all of the selections…

Pro Football Weekly/PFWA 2010 All-NFL Team


QB – Tom Brady (Patriots)

RB – Arian Foster (Texans); Jamaal Charles (Chiefs)

WR – Roddy White (Falcons); Reggie Wayne (Colts)

TE – Jason Witten (Cowboys)

C – Nick Mangold ( Jets)

OG – Jahri Evans (Saints); Chris Snee (Giants)

OT – Joe Thomas (Browns); Jake Long (Dolphins)


DE – Julius Peppers (Bears); Justin Tuck (Giants)

DT – Haloti Ngata (Ravens); Ndamukong Suh (Lions)

OLB – Clay Matthews (Packers); James Harrison (Steelers)

MLB – Jerod Mayo (Patriots)

CB – Asante Samuel (Eagles); Darrelle Revis (Jets)

S – Troy Polamalu (Steelers); Ed Reed (Ravens)


K – Billy Cundiff (Ravens)

P – Shane Lechler (Raiders)

PR – Devin Hester (Bears)

KR – Leon Washington (Seahawks)

ST – Eric Weems (Falcons)


MVP — Patriots QB Tom Brady

Defensive MVP — Packers LB Clay Matthews

Coach of the Year — Patriots head coach Bill Belichick

Rookie of the Year — Lions DT Ndamukong Suh

Offensive Rookie of the Year — Rams QB Sam Bradford

Most Improved Player of the Year — Texans RB Arian Foster

Comeback Player of the Year — Eagles QB Michael Vick

Executive of the Year — Chiefs GM Scott Pioli

Assistant Coach of the Year — Eagles offensive coordinator Marty Mornhinweg

Golden Toe (Top Placekicker or Punter) — Ravens K Billy Cundiff

Pro Football Weekly/PFWA All-Rookie Team


QB – Sam Bradford (Rams)

RB – LeGarrette Blount (Buccaneers); Chris Ivory (Saints)

WR – Mike Williams (Buccaneers); Dez Bryant (Cowboys)

TE – Rob Gronkowski (Patriots)

C – Maurkice Pouncey (Steelers)

G – Mike Iupati (49ers); John Jerry (Dolphins)

OT – Rodger Saffold (Rams); Bryan Bulaga (Packers)


DL – Ndamukong Suh (Lions); Carlos Dunlap (Bengals); Lamarr Houston (Raiders); Tyson Alualu (Jaguars)

LB – Rolando McClain (Raiders); Koa Misi (Dolphins); Pat Angerer (Colts)

CB – Devin McCourty (Patriots); Joe Haden (Browns)

S – Eric Berry (Chiefs); T.J. Ward (Browns)


K – Clint Stitser (Bengals)

P – Zoltan Mesko (Patriots)

PR – Marc Mariani (Titans)

KR – Jacoby Ford (Raiders)

ST- T.J. Ward (Browns)


The awards continue to roll in for Pioli. Sports Illustrated's Peter King has named Pioli his NFL Executive of the Year as well. King also takes a different angle regarding the Chiefs offensive line, naming right guard Ryan Lilja to his All-Pro Team.

Here's a look at King's 2010 NFL Awards.

^ TOP ^