Eight Picks Await the Chiefs in 2013 NFL Draft

A look at the team's history of first-round picks

The Kansas City Chiefs have eight opportunities to improve their team in the upcoming 2013 NFL Draft. 

Here's a look at the draft pick rounds and selections from where Chiefs general manager John Dorsey, head coach Andy Reid and their entire staff will be choosing the best players available, between April 25-27. (Photo Gallery of the Chiefs 2013 Scouting Saga).

Round 1

1st pick – 1st overall

Round 3

1st pick - 63rd overall

34th pick - 96th overall (compensatory)

Round 4

2nd pick – 99th overall

Round 5

1st pick - 134th overall

Round 6

2nd pick – 170th overall

36th pick – 204th overall (compensatory)

Round 7

1st pick – 207th overall

FYI: Here's a look at the Chiefs All-Time First-Round Draft Picks

Year-Player (Position)


2012-Dontari Poe (DT)

2011-Jonathan Baldwin (WR)

2010-Eric Berry (S)

2009-Tyson Jackson(DE)

2008-Glenn Dorsey (DT) & Branden Albert (T)

2007-Dwayne Bowe (WR)

2006-Tamba Hali (DE)

2005-Derrick Johnson (LB)

2004-Traded to Detroit

2003-Larry Johnson (RB)

2002-Ryan Sims (DT)

2001-Traded to St. Louis

2000-Sylvester Morris (WR)

1999-John Tait (T)

1998-Victor Riley (T)

1997-Tony Gonzalez (TE)

1996-Jerome Woods (S)

1995-Trezelle Jenkins (T)

1994-Greg Hill (RB)

1993-Traded to San Francisco

1992-Dale Carter (CB)

1991-Harvey Williams (RB)

1990-Percy Snow (LB)

1989-Derrick Thomas (LB) Photo Gallery

1988-Neil Smith (DE)

1987-Paul Palmer (RB)

1986-Brian Jozwiak (T)

1985-Ethan Horton (RB)

1984-Bill Maas (NT) and T John Alt (T)

1983-Todd Blackledge (QB)

1982-Anthony Hancock (WR)

1981-Willie Scott (TE)

1980-Brad Budde (G)

1979-Mike Bell (DE) & Steve Fuller (QB)

1978-Art Still (DE)

1977-Gary Green (CB)

1976-Rod Walters (G)

1975-Traded to Houston

1974-Woody Green (RB)

1973-Traded to Chicago

1972-Jeff Kinney (RB)

1971-Elmo Wright (WR)

1970-Sid Smith (T)

1969-Jim Marsalis (CB)

1968-Mo Moorman (G) & George Daney (G)

1967-Gene Trosch (DT)

1966-Aaron Brown (DE)

1965-Gale Sayers* (RB)

1964-Pete Beathard (QB)

1963-Buck Buchanan (DT) and Ed Budde (G)

1962-Ronnie Bull* (HB)

1961-E.J. Holub (LB)

1960-Don Meredith* (QB)

  • Signed with the NFL, instead of the AFL
This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content