Skip to main content

Kansas City Chiefs Official Team Website |

101 Awards Recap

The 101 Awards recognized De’Anthony Thomas and Justin Houston

The 45th annual 101 Awards show was held at the Westin Crown Center in Kansas City, MO on Saturday night. The event was hosted by NBC Sports Network Host Paul Burmeister and Pro Football Hall of Famer James Lofton.

The first segment was dedicated to the Chiefs awards, a time for the organization to recognize the Most Valuable Player and Rookie of the Year.

A collection of photos from the 45th annual 101 Awards.

LB Justin Houston - Derrick Thomas Award (Most Valuable Player)

RB De'Anthony Thomas - Mack Lee Hill Award (Rookie of the Year)

This season, Houston recorded 22 sacks, 4 forced fumbles and 25 quarterback pressures. It's no surprise he was named MVP, while Thomas was awarded Rookie of the Year. The rookie out of Oregon led the AFC in punt return yards (405) and was named to the Professional Football Writers Association 2015 All-Rookie Team as a punt returner. Additionally, Thomas' 156 punt return yards against the Raiders ranks as the second-highest single-game total in franchise history. READ MORE.

The award winners were announced and introduced by Chiefs Chairman and CEO, Clark Hunt, at a press conference preceding the banquet. Hunt also announced that former Chiefs Pro-Bowler, Gary Green, will be inducted into the Chiefs Hall of Fame during the 2015 season. READ MORE.

Paul Tagliabue – Lamar Hunt Award for Professional Football

One of the most prestigious awards handed out at the event is the Lamar Hunt Award for Professional Football, which was created in 2007 to honor the life and legacy of the Kansas City Chiefs founder. This award recognizes a person or group whose visionary leadership has significantly contributed to NFL and its status as the preeminent pro sports league in America.

The recipient of this year's Lamar Hunt Award for Professional Football is former NFL Commissioner Paul Tagliabue, who served in the role from 1989 to 2006.

Following the Chiefs portion of the program, the national award segment began, honoring those from around the league. This year's award winners:

Le'Veon Bell and Antonio Brown – Pittsburgh Steelers – Co-AFC Offensive Players of the Year

Aaron Rodgers – Green Bay Packers – NFC Offensive Player of the Year

J.J. Watt – Houston Texans – AFC Defensive Player of the Year

Richard Sherman – Seattle Seahawks – NFC Defensive Player of the Year

Bill Belichick – New England Patriots – AFC Coach of the Year

Bruce Arians – Arizona Cardinals – NFC Coach of the Year

Started by the late Lamar Hunt, the 101 Awards gala truly is a remarkable event and is a longstanding tradition in Kansas City. To watch the full event, tune in on March 15th at 7PM CT on NFL Network.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content