Skip to main content

Kansas City Chiefs Official Team Website |

2014 Waiver Period Begins, Free Agency Looms

Chiefs will use the offseason to prepare for bigger things in 2014

While the new league year doesn't start officially for another 36 days (March 11), every team, including your Kansas City Chiefs, has been given the green light to begin tweaking its current roster (if it chooses to), via the waiver-wire system for the upcoming 2014 campaign.

The NFL's waiver system began Monday for the 2014 season and includes a typical 24-hour claiming period for players with three or fewer pension-credited seasons, whom are released from their teams (there are various times where waivers timelines are adjusted). Players with at least four pension-credited seasons, whom a club desires to terminate, are not subject to the waiver system, until after the trading deadline.

Teams can now release/waive players from their roster, but cannot sign unrestricted free agents, until the free agency period begins on March 11.

For a look at some of the past Chiefs waiver-wire additions, including TE Sean McGrath, CB Marcus Cooper, DB Ron Parker and more, click here.

The Chiefs players scheduled to become free agents, come Mar. 11, are:

WR - Dexter McCluster

WR - Kyle Williams

TE - Richard Gordon

LS - Thomas Gafford

T - Branden Albert

G/T - Geoff Schwartz

G - Jon Asamoah

G - Ricky Henry

LB - Frank Zombo

LB - Akeem Jordan

S - Kendrick Lewis

S - Husain Abdullah

S - Quintin Demps

DE - Tyson Jackson

DT - Jerrell Powe

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content