Skip to main content

Kansas City Chiefs Official Team Website |

Black College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2016 Announced

The Black College Football Hall of Fame (BCFHOF) announced its Class of 2016 today. Six inductees were selected from a list of 25 Finalists who had been determined earlier by the BCFHOF Selection Committee.

The Class of 2016 includes Ken Burrough(Texas Southern University), Jethro Pugh(Elizabeth City State University),Otis Taylor(Prairie View A&M University),Emmitt Thomas(Bishop College), Aeneas Williams(Southern University)*as player inductees andLloyd "Judge" Wells* (Kansas City Chiefs' Scout) as a contributor.

Votes were tallied from the 13-member Selection Committee, comprised of prominent journalists, commentators and historians, as well as former NFL General Managers and executives, and from previous BCFHOF inductees to determine the Inductees.

The Class of 2016 will be honored at the Seventh Annual Black College Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Ceremony, Presented by the Atlanta Falcons on February 27, 2016. The Enshrinement Ceremony takes place at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, Georgia.

The Inductees will also be recognized at the Celebration Bowl in Atlanta on December 19th. For more information please visit


Wide Receiver … Texas Southern University (1966-1969) … New Orleans Saints (1970) … Houston Oilers (1971-1981) … 12 seasons … Selected by the New Orleans Saints in 1st round, 10th player overall (1970 NFL Draft) … Two-time Pro Bowl Selection … Two-time All-Pro (1975, 1977) … Led NFL in receiving in 1973 … Last NFL player to ever wear "00" on jersey … Born July 14, 1948 in Jacksonville, Florida.

Defensive Tackle … Elizabeth City State University (1961-1964) … Two-time All-CIAA defensive end (1963, 1964) … Dallas Cowboys (1965-1978) … 14 seasons … Selected by the Cowboys in 11th round, 145th player overall (1965 NFL Draft) … Two-time Super Bowl Champion (1972, 1978) … All-Pro (1968) … Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association Hall of Fame … North Carolina Sports Hall of Fame … National Black College Alumni Hall of Fame … Born July 3, 1944 in Windsor, North Carolina … Died January 7, 2015.

Wide Receiver … Prairie View A&M University (1961-1964) … Kansas City Chiefs (1965-1975) … 11 seasons … Selected by the Chiefs in 5th round (1965 AFL Draft) … Three Pro Bowl selections … Two-time All-Pro (1971, 1972) … First Team All-AFL (1966) … Second Team All-AFL (1967) … Two-time AFL Champion … Super Bowl Champion (1970) …  Prairie View A&M University Sports Hall of Fame … Kansas City Chiefs Hall of Fame … Born August 18, 1942 in Houston, Texas.

Cornerback … Bishop College (1962-1965) … Kansas City Chiefs (1966-1978) … 13 seasons … Five-time Pro Bowl selection … Two-time First Team All-Pro (1974, 1975) … Two-time Second Team All-Pro (1969, 1971) … Three-time Super Bowl Champion (1970, 1988 as player; 1992 as a coach) … Kansas City Chiefs Hall of Fame … Pro Football Hall of Fame (2008) … Born June 3, 1943.

Cornerback/Free Safety … Southern University (1989-1990) … Arizona Cardinals (1991-2000) … St. Louis Rams (2001-2004) … 14 seasons … Selected by the Cardinals in 3rd round (1991 NFL Draft) … Eight Pro Bowl selections … Four-time All-Pro (1995-1997, 2001) … Bart Starr Man of the Year Award (1999) … NFL's 1990's All Decade Team … Arizona Cardinals Ring of Honor … St. Louis Rams 10th Anniversary Team … St. Louis Sports Hall of Fame … Pro Football Hall of Fame (2014) … Born January 29, 1968 in New Orleans, Louisiana.

LLOYD C.A. "JUDGE" WELLS (Contributor)
NFL Scout … Texas Southern University … Pro football's first black full-time scout … Wells' success was a catalyst for the older league to try to get up to speed in signing talented black players from small colleges, including Historically Black Colleges and Universities as the AFL had done from its inception … No less than eight of Wells' recruits made All-AFL during their pro careers … Served as adviser and confidant to Muhammad Ali … Born in 1924 … Died September 12, 2005.

About the Black College Football Hall of Fame

The Black College Football Hall of Fame was established in October 2009 to honor the greatest football players and coaches from Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs). Its trustees are football legends Mel Blount, James Harris, Willie Lanier, Art Shell and Doug Williams. The Black College Football Hall of Fame is sponsored by the Shack Harris & Doug Williams Foundation, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, tax-exempt organization.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content