Chiefs Announce 2015 Team Award Winners

The Mack Lee Hill Award and the Derrick Thomas Award were announced Saturday

The two Kansas City Chiefs 2015 team honors—the Derrick Thomas Award and the Mack Lee Hill Award—were announced at the 101 Awards in Kansas City on Saturday night.

The Derrick Thomas Award


The "Derrick Thomas Award" is Kansas City's team MVP award, as voted upon by the players. This season, the Chiefs voted two players for the Derrick Thomas Award—both Alex Smith and Eric Berry.

Smith was 307 for 470 (65.3 percent) for 3,486 yards passing, 20 touchdowns and 7 interceptions in 2015. Smith's passer rating of 95.4 was the best of his three-year Chiefs career.

Smith also became No. 2 on the all-time NFL list for pass attempts without an interception. Smith's 312 passes are only second to New England Patriots quarterback Tom Brady, who had 358.

In two postseason games, Smith was 46 of 72 (63.9 percent) for 436 yards passing, 2 touchdowns and 1 interception.

A look at some of the top photos of Alex Smith during the 2015 season.

Berry defeated the Hodgkin's lymphoma he was diagnosed with in December of 2014 to make it back to the Chiefs by training camp.

Berry started 15 games, had 2 interceptions and 61 tackles (55 solo). His play let to him being voted a Pro Bowler and named a first-team All-Pro.

2015 marks the first time in the award's 37-year history it has been given to two players.

A look at some of the top photos of Eric Berry throughout the 2015 season.

The Mack Lee Hill Award


The "Mack Lee Hill Award" is Kansas City's rookie or first-year player who, as the inscription on the trophy reads, "best exemplifies the spirit of the late Mack Lee Hill…the man with the giant heart and the quiet way."

The 2015 Mack Lee Hill Award winner is rookie cornerback Marcus Peters.

Peters shared a tie for the league lead in interceptions with 8 in 2015, and he led the league in interception return yards with 280.

Peters' efforts him also earned him the NFL's Defensive Rookie of the Year award at this year's NFL Honors.

A look at Marcus Peters through the 2015 season.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content