Chiefs Announce Roster Moves

Team releases 14 players, nearing August 31st deadline for the 53-man roster

The Kansas City Chiefs announced Sunday that the club is releasing 14 players in order to get closer to the NFL's mandated 75-man roster by Aug. 27 at 3 p.m. CT. With today's moves, the Chiefs now have 76 players on the current roster.

"This is always a difficult time of year," Chiefs general manager John Dorsey said. "We have to make decisions that we feel are in the best interest of our football team and unfortunately this is part of the process. These gentlemen have put in a lot of hard work and effort for our franchise, and we wish them nothing but the best moving forward."

The league's final roster cutdown to 53 players must take place before 5 p.m. CT on Aug. 31. The following players have been released by the club:


1) Vince Agnew - DB - (CMU)

2) Miguel Chavis - DE - (Clemson)

3) Terrance Copper - WR - (East Carolina)

4) Ryan Durand - OL - (Syracuse)

5) Hutch Eckerson - OL - (South Carolina)

6) Otha Foster III - DB - (West Alabama)

7) A.J. Hawkins - OL - (Mississippi)

8) Rob Lohr - DE - (Vanderbilt)

9) Kamaal McIlwain - CB - (Newberry College)

10) Jordan Roberts - RB - (Charleston)

11) Tyler Shoemaker - WR - (Boise State)

12) Ricky Stanzi - QB - (Iowa)

13) Neiko Thorpe - DB - (Auburn)

14) Braden Wilson - FB - (Kansas State)

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content