Chiefs Linebacker Derrick Johnson Nominated for Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

The Art Rooney Award recognizes players around the league who exemplify outstanding sportsmanship on the field

Kansas City Chiefs linebacker Derrick Johnson has been named one of 32 nominees for this year's Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award, which recognize players around the league who exemplify outstanding sportsmanship on the field.

The award was created in 2014 in honor of the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pro Football Hall of Famer, Art Rooney Sr.

A panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community—Warrick Dunn, Curtis Martin, Karl Mecklenburg and Leonard Wheeler—select eight finalists from the pool of 32.

The eight finalists are then listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the "NFL Sportsmanship Award" category when the current players vote on Friday, December 16.

From the eight finalists, each team's players will submit a consensus vote of their choice for the winner. As in Pro Bowl voting, a team cannot vote for its own player.

The winner selected by the vote of the players will be announced during the nationally televised NFL Honors show on Saturday, February 4 on FOX, the night before Super Bowl LI.

He will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice. He will also receive a trophy that represents the important role that sportsmanship plays in the game and how NFL players that demonstrate integrity and honor on the field serve as role models for players at all levels.

Here is a look back at the award's previous winners:

2015- the Oakland Raiders' Charles Woodson
2014- the Arizona Cardinals' Larry Fitzgerald

Photo Highlights of Derrick Johnson

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content