Skip to main content

Kansas City Chiefs Official Team Website |

Kansas City Chiefs Honor Janet Murguía through the NFL Hispanic Heritage Leadership Award

The Kansas City Chiefs have selected Janet Murguía as the recipient of the team's NFL Hispanic Heritage Leadership Award.

The NFL and the Hispanic Heritage Foundation (HHF) have partnered for the ninth-annual NFL Hispanic Heritage Leadership Awards during the 2019 celebration of Hispanic Heritage Month. The awards recognize the contributions of Hispanic leaders in each NFL market.

The Kansas City Chiefs will honor Murguía at the home opener on Sunday, Sept. 22, when they face the Baltimore Ravens at Arrowhead Stadium.

Since 2005, Janet Murguía has served as President and CEO of UnidosUS (formerly known as National Council of La Raza)—the nation's largest Latino civil rights and advocacy organization. In that role, Murguía has sought to strengthen UnidosUS's work and enhance its record of impact as a vital American institution. Murguía has also worked to amplify the Latino voice on issues affecting the Hispanic community such as education, health care, immigration, civil rights and the economy.

Each award recipient will select an organization of their choice that serves the local Hispanic community to receive a $2,000 donation. Janet Murguía has selected The Greater Kansas City Hispanic Development Fund to receive this donation.

Established by the White House in 1987, the Hispanic Heritage Foundation is an award-winning nonprofit organization that identifies, inspires, prepares and positions Latino leaders in the classroom, community and workforce to meet America's priorities. The Hispanic Heritage Foundation is a 501(c)(3) focused on assisting "a Latino to help hundreds more" through a unique cycle of leadership built on a high-profile, year-round continuum of sustainable programs including the Hispanic Heritage Youth Awards, Latinos On Fast Track, Hispanic Heritage Awards and Public Awareness Campaigns. The Hispanic Heritage Foundation promotes cultural pride, accomplishment and the great promise of the community through public awareness campaigns seen by millions. 

Previously, Randy Lopez (2018), Pedro Zamora (2017), Mayra Aguirre (2016), Irene Caudillo (2015), David Chavez (2014), Juan Sepúlveda (2013), Ramón Murguía (2012) and CiCi Rojas (2011) have been recognized as the Chiefs local NFL Hispanic Heritage Leadership Award winners.

Related Content