NFL Announces 2016 Pro Bowl Coaching Staffs

The coaching staffs of the GREEN BAY PACKERS and KANSAS CITY CHIEFS were selected to lead the 2016 Pro Bowl teams in Honolulu, Hawaii, the NFL announced today.

The 2016 Pro Bowl presented by USAA will be played on Sunday, January 31, 2016 and televised live on ESPN at 7:00 PM ET from Aloha Stadium in Hawaii.

MIKE MC CARTHY and the coaches from the Green Bay Packers and ANDY REID and the coaches from the Kansas City Chiefs will be assigned to teams through the Pro Bowl Draft presented by USAA. The 2016 Pro Bowl Draft will be nationally televised on Wednesday, January 27 on ESPN2 at 7:30 PM ET.

Pro Football Hall of Famers MICHAEL IRVIN and JERRY RICE will serve as NFL Legends captains for their Pro Bowl squads – Team Irvin and Team Rice – and will select their coaching staff. Irvin and Rice return for the second time after being the winning captains in the previous two Pro Bowls.

Five-time Pro Bowler DARREN WOODSON (Team Irvin) and two-time Pro Bowler ERIC DAVIS (Team Rice) will serve as defensive co-captains. The NFL legends will also each be assisted by two active player captains and one fantasy football champion in the draft process. The Pro Bowl will continue using the revised game format that debuted with the 2014 game, with NFL Legends captains having final say over Pro Bowl Draft decisions. The Pro Bowl will remain "unconferenced," with several key playing rules changed. Players were selected without regard to conference in voting by fans, coaches and players and will later be assigned to teams via the Pro Bowl Draft.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content