Skip to main content

Kansas City Chiefs Official Team Website |

NFL Announces Team Nominees for Walter Payton Man of the Year Award, Presented by Nationwide

Tamba Hali one of 32 players nominated for the Walter Payton Man of the Year Award

The NFL today announced the 32 players who have been named their team's Man of the Year. From granting scholarships to forming foundations promoting literacy, to getting kids active, these players represent the best of the NFL's commitment to philanthropy and community impact and are now eligible to win the Walter Payton Man of the Year Award, presented by Nationwide.

Three of these nominees will be selected as finalists for the award, named for the legendary Bears running back who died in 1999. Finalists will be announced in January 2015.

The winner will be announced in Arizona, the site of Super Bowl XLIX, during the 4th Annual NFL Honors awards show, a two-hour primetime special to air nationally on Saturday, January 31, from 9-11 p.m. ET on NBC.

Each of the 32 team nominees receive a $1,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to the charity of their choice.  The three finalists will receive an additional $5,000 donation, and the winner will receive an additional $20,000 donation in his name.

"We admire and support the important work that these players and so many other NFL players are doing to serve their communities," said NFL Commissioner ROGER GOODELL. "The NFL is filled with outstanding young men who help schools, shelters, and countless other organizations and good causes. We thank our players for recognizing the positive impact they can have in the lives of their fellow citizens and seizing that opportunity to make difference."

As announced in July, Nationwide is the presenting sponsor of the award for the first time this year. The Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award is the only league award that recognizes a player's off-the-field community service as well as his playing excellence.

"As a company whose core values include integrity, trust and community support, Nationwide is proud to be the sponsor of the Walter Payton Man of the Year Award," said MATT JAUCHIUS, Nationwide's chief marketing officer. "While only one of these men can win the award, the fact that they have been nominated makes them, and the communities they serve, winners. We congratulate this year's nominees and thank them for their leadership."

For more information on the team nominees and the award, visit

A list of team nominees is below:

Arizona Cardinals Calais Campbell
Atlanta Falcons Matt Bryant
Baltimore Ravens Torrey Smith
Buffalo Bills Fred Jackson
Carolina Panthers Thomas Davis
Chicago Bears Jay Cutler
Cincinnati Bengals Vincent Rey
Cleveland Browns Craig Robertson
Dallas Cowboys DeMarco Murray
Denver Broncos Ben Garland
Detroit Lions Stephen Tulloch
Green Bay Packers Aaron Rodgers
Houston Texans Andre Johnson
Indianapolis Colts Pat McAfee
Jacksonville Jaguars Josh Scobee
Kansas City Chiefs Tamba Hali
Miami Dolphins Olivier Vernon
Minnesota Vikings Chad Greenway
New England Patriots Devin McCourty
New Orleans Saints Thomas Morstead
New York Giants Steve Weatherford
New York Jets Muhammad,Wilkerson
Oakland Raiders Marcel Reece
Philadelphia Eagles Connor Barwin
Pittsburgh Steelers William Gay
San Diego Chargers Philip Rivers
San Francisco 49ers Anquan Boldin
Seattle Seahawks Russell Wilson
St. Louis Rams Johnny Hekker
Tampa Bay Buccaneers Vincent Jackson
Tennessee Titans Jason McCourty
Washington Redskins Darrel Young

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content