Previewing Chiefs' OTAs: With Travis Kelce Sidelined, Others to Step Up

Checking out the Chiefs' tight ends competing during OTAs

052317-tes-image.jpg

Back at the NFL Scouting Combine in early March, Kansas City Chiefs head coach Andy Reid shared the news that All-Pro tight end Travis Kelce underwent offseason shoulder surgery and would miss all workouts leading up to training camp.

Reid didn't believe it was an injury that would jeopardize Kelce's availability for the upcoming season, but it does provide an opportunity for the other tight ends on the roster to snag valuable reps during OTAs, which begin for the Chiefs on Tuesday.

The Chiefs will have 10 OTA practices spread out over the next three weeks.

Here's a look at the other four tight ends on the Chiefs' roster:

052317-TesRoster.jpg

The Chiefs signed free agent tight end Gavin Escobar earlier this offseason.

Escobar, who was selected in the second round (No. 47 overall) of the 2013 NFL Draft out of San Diego State, spent the last four years with the Dallas Cowboys, playing in 62 games and catching 30 passes for 333 yards (11.1 yards per reception) with eight touchdowns.

And with the Chiefs trading the former fifth-round pick, James O'Shaughnessy, to the New England Patriots less than an hour before the fourth round f the NFL draft began a few weeks ago, the opportunity presents itself for Escobar, along with Ross Travis and fourth-year player Demetrius Harris, to see more action.

The tight end position is definitely one of the top storylines to watch throughout OTAs, and with Kelce sidelined, there will be plenty of chances for the other four guys to show what the can do as we get closer to training camp.


Here's the Chiefs' schedule of OTA practices:

Tuesday, May 23         11:10 a.m.

Wednesday, May 24   11:10 a.m.

Thursday, May 25       11:10 a.m. * Coach Reid speaking to media

* *

Tuesday, May 30         11:10 a.m.

Wednesday, May 31   11:10 a.m.

Thursday, June 1         11:10 a.m. * Coach Reid speaking to media

* *

Tuesday, June 6          11:10 a.m.

Wednesday, June 7     11:10 a.m.

Thursday, June 8         11:10 a.m.

Friday, June 9              11:10 a.m. * Coach Reid speaking to media

---

Mandatory Minicamp:

Tuesday, June 13        1:20 p.m.

Wednesday, June 14   11:15 a.m.

Thursday, June 15       11:15 a.m. * Coach Reid speaking to media

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content

Advertising