Previewing Kansas City Chiefs OTAs: Looking at the Running Backs

Checking out the Chiefs’ running backs competing during OTAs

For just the second time in his five years leading the personnel side of the Kansas City Chiefs, general manager John Dorsey selected a running back in the 2017 NFL Draft.

The Chiefs even moved up to select Kareem Hunt— Toledo's all-time leading rusher with 4,945 yards and 44 touchdowns—in the third round after trading fourth, and seventh round picks.

Hunt, the 5-feet-11, 216-pound playmaker, was the first running back selected by Dorsey and the Chiefs since Knile Davis in 2013.

Hunt joins a running backs group that's led by veteran fullback Anthony Sherman, along with Spencer Ware and Charcandrick West.

Ware and West have taken the lion's share of the carries for the Chiefs over the past couple of seasons with Jamaal Charles missing considerable time with injuries.

One interesting storyline to follow this offseason is the development and utilization of second-year playmaker Tyreek Hill out of the backfield.

Despite carrying the ball just 24 times, Hill averaged more than 11 yards per carry and scored three touchdowns.

Here's a look at the production from the Chiefs' running backs as a group last year:

RBSStats2017.jpg

Last year, the Chiefs kept five running backs on the 53-man roster coming out of the preseason.

Here are the six running backs on the roster for OTAs:

051717-RBsRoster.jpg

Here's the Chiefs' schedule of OTA practices:

Tuesday, May 23         11:10 a.m.

Wednesday, May 24   11:10 a.m.

Thursday, May 25       11:10 a.m. * Coach Reid speaking to media

* *

Tuesday, May 30         11:10 a.m.

Wednesday, May 31   11:10 a.m.

Thursday, June 1         11:10 a.m. * Coach Reid speaking to media

* *

Tuesday, June 6          11:10 a.m.

Wednesday, June 7     11:10 a.m.

Thursday, June 8         11:10 a.m.

Friday, June 9              11:10 a.m. * Coach Reid speaking to media

* *

---

Mandatory Minicamp:

Tuesday, June 13        1:20 p.m.

Wednesday, June 14   11:15 a.m.

Thursday, June 15       11:15 a.m. * Coach Reid speaking to media

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content

Advertising